Posted in C-Novel Translation, Drama Review / Recaps

Castle in the Time (Time City) 时光之城 by 皎皎 Jiao Jiao adapted into C-Drama

Happy Sunday! Hope that everyone is doing well and healthy. Half of 2020 have flown by. We are now in the 2nd half of 2020. It have been a bumpy start of the year for most of us here in Asia while over the past months it have been tough and worrisome worldwide. Pray that this will comes to an end soon.

Come June 10, it would be exactly 4 months since I have gone into isolation. Started with my returning back to Asia after 2 weeks of exploration to America and Latin America. While I had indeed missed spending time with my friends, the isolation period have made me realised how fragile life can be. It have also make me think of the priorities in life.

Trying to keep a work life balance, I have been spending time catching up on dramas and also novels that I have not had time for. So, starting this June, with my reduce work schedule of only having to work 4 days a week, I hope I would have more time to try to complete this novel translation.

To my surprise, I discover only recently while checking out on the latest drama to watch, that Castle in the Time (Time City) 时光之城 by 皎皎 Jiao Jiao have been adapted into drama. Although the airing date have not been confirmed, it is said to be release in 2020. Now, this is something I definitely look forward to.

For those whom love to watch drama adaption from novel like me, do check out the trailer for Castle in the Time C-Drama

Also known as 时光之城, Xu Zhen is stared by a korean actress, Park Min Young while Gu Zhi Jun is stared by Zhang Zhe Han. While the Lin Jin Xiu from the drama has a slightly different role from the Lin Jin Xiu from the novel, is stared by Xu Ke. Apart from Park Min Young, all the other are new to me. I have never seen them in any of the dramas before. So, it is too early to comment about their acting skills.

The drama version synopsis:

Source : mydramalist.com

An encounter that brings a palaeontology student together with an established actor and the romance that ensues. Xu Zhen is a bright and optimistic young woman who doesn’t easily give up. In order to patch things up between her mother and her ailing father, she applies for a job at Jiang Ye Entertainment where her mother works as a Director and accidentally witnesses Gu Chi Jun getting coldly rejected by his ex-girlfriend yet again. In order to protect his huge and heavily-bruised ego, Gu Chi Jun does everything in his power to force Xu Zhen out so that she’ll never have a chance to expose what happened to him. She wins him over instead and becomes his personal assistant. However, Xu Zhen also learns about a conspiracy within the firm and finds that she may be in danger.

The excitement of having the novel adapted into drama, although watching the trailer, it seems that the drama adaption will be slightly different from the actual novel, I am keen to finish the reading the novel before watching the drama.

And I hope everyone whom is reading the translated Castle in the Time (Time City) 时光之城 from this site is as excited as I am 🙂

Author:

I love travelling and exploring the world, see things from the lense of my camera.... this is my space in sharing the many exciting places that I have visited as well as some of the wonderful gastronomy experience. I also loved baking while exploring new recipes. From time to time, I will also be sharing unique dishes that I cook for my family as well as sharing some of my baking experience / recipes.

Leave a comment