Posted in Drama Review / Recaps

J-Manga Review: Hapi Mari (はぴまり)

I found a new addiction…. J-Manga…. I have been reading a few good translated J-Manga that I found on the Manga Apps that have been downloaded on my phone. It is a good and entertaining 10 minutes break that I needed over lunch after a hectic morning at work.

My read over the past week were Hapi Mari (はぴまり), also known as Happy Marriage in the J-Drama that was aired in June 2016. 

Hapi Mari (はぴまり) is a Japanese manga written and illustrated by Enjouji Maki. There is a total of 10 volumes with publication now available in Japanese, English, French and German.

Hapi Mari (はぴまり) is a story of Chiwa Takanashi, a 23 years old ordinary young women whom had never actually dated any real boyfriend. She agreed to enter an arranged marriage with a man that she does not know in order to pay off the debts that her father had incurred.

Hokuto Mamiya, the president of the organization where Chiwa Takanashi is the husband in the arranged marriage with Chiwa Takanashi. He agreed to enter the marriage as he has an ultimate goal that he wants to achieve and he needed the marriage as part of the pawn. Hokuto is a cold heart person whom never had the opportunity to grow up in a happily married family (his parents never officially got married).

Hapi Mari (はぴまり) is a romantic comedy that tells the story of two strangers whom got into an arranged marriage. Both have different reason why they agreed to enter into the marriage. This is a story of how they live together and found their way into a happy marriage.

No marriage is without any challenges not especially when it is an arranged marriage. A truly enjoyable story how both Hokuto and Chiwa realized the importance of the significant other party in their live. And how they overcome the many miscommunication, challenges and obstacles that comes their way. And the sacrifices that both of them made in the end leading to their happy marriage!

Want to read this manga? It is available at Hapi Mari (はぴまり) Manga

f0fd16dd3cc831f1143ef4eb20b38eda

To my surprise, there is a drama adaption to this top 15 best selling manga of Japan titled Happy marriage (Hapimari: Happy Marriage) that was aired earlier this year starred the popular Japanese Actor, Dean Fujioka and Japanese Actress, Nana Seino. It also starred the beautiful Norika Fujiwara, a former Japanese beauty queen, model and actress.

So, my next drama watch for the following week would be Happy marriage (Hapimari: Happy Marriage) which is now available on this link.

happy-marriage

Author:

I love travelling and exploring the world, see things from the lense of my camera.... this is my space in sharing the many exciting places that I have visited as well as some of the wonderful gastronomy experience. I also loved baking while exploring new recipes. From time to time, I will also be sharing unique dishes that I cook for my family as well as sharing some of my baking experience / recipes.

12 thoughts on “J-Manga Review: Hapi Mari (はぴまり)

  1. i lready read the manga, a little bit disappoint with the male lead. he’s not that good looking considering the male lead in manga super handsome. hahahhaa just ignore me, i just love to see good looking men

    Liked by 1 person

      1. aaahh, must be happy. well i think the crew considering the actor age because the manga genre is josei and all the character in manga all adults i think he’s suitable for the role. but i still want a younger and eye candy actor. hehehehe

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This J-drama not bad. I have watched it until episode 4 so far. It really entertaining because my first time watching Dean speaking Japanese, although I knew he is Japanese LOLS (my bad, his Chinese also fluent and easy to listen)
    If I not mistaken His wife is an Indonesian.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes Dean has an Indonesian wife with a boy-girl twins. Lucky man. First time I saw him on TV was in the taiwanese drama Just You. I liked his character in the drama and when he spoke Japanese with Aaron Yan in the drama…. I was swooning… hahaha…. I had loved Japanese as a language since over 15 years ago. So the opportunity to listen to him in his native language…. over the moon! Enjoy the drama. I just completed Episode 4 last night too…. Can’t wait to get home and watch the other episodes tonight. Hopefully I am able to get off work earlier today.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It is pretty standard drama. So it takes a little more interest to want to keep watching. I watch purely because of Dean and also because I love the cute moments… needed something light before heading to bed….

      Like

Leave a comment