Posted in C-Novel Translation

K-Drama Review: Cinderella and Four Knights (신데렐라와 네 명의 기사)

A bonus post today! I had a little time on hand and needed a break from my work, so sharing my thoughts and opinion on Cinderella and Four Knights (신데렐라와 네 명의 기사).

Its been a while since I last watch any K-Drama purely because of the limited personal time on hand. I finally found a little time on hand and thanks to some very good reviews online, I started watching Cinderella and Four Knights (신데렐라와 네 명의 기사). A truly entertaining drama. I definitely enjoyed the drama and managed to finished the entire 16 episodes within 3 days.

Starring Park So Dam as Eun Ha Won and Jung Il Woo as Kang Ji Woon, Cinderella and Four Knights (신데렐라와 네 명의 기사) is a story of a bright student who dreams of becoming teacher. Unhappy at home, she was mistreated by her step-mother and step-sister while her father is just ignoring her.

Ha Won (starring Park So Dam), at the Anniversary of her mother’s death, while visiting her, found out that her mother’s ashes was removed because of unpaid bills. To make matters worst, she was chased out of her own house just after her father drop a bombshell on her: she is actually not his real daughter but born from a scandal that her mother had with another guy.

photo753646

Spoiled cousins with different personalities staying together in a huge yet cold mansion called Sky House. Kang Ji Woon (Jung Il Woo) – a tough guy whom grew up under the name of Han Ji Woon. He was brought back into the Kang family and got his name change against his wishes.

Kang Hyun Min (starring Ahn Jae Hyeon) is the heir to the company whom is also a playboy. After meeting Eun Ha Won, he ‘hired’ her to be his fiancee for 3 hours to attend his Grandfather’s 5th Wedding Ceremony with the plan to upstage his grandfather’s wedding ceremony with the surprise appearance of a fiancee, Eun Ha Won.

maxresdefault

Kang Seo Woo (starring Lee Jung Shin) is a sweet musician whom eventually started falling for Eun Ha Won.

Hye Ji (starring Son Na Eun) grew up together with Hyun Min. A love triangle indeed with Ji Woon liking her while her heart is with Hyun Min. Fate as it is, Hyun Min avoided her despite knowing his heart because of an incident causing the death of Hye Ji’s brother whom is also a good friend of Hyun Min. Would both Hyun Min and Hye Ji get back together?

Grandfather Kang (starring Kim Yong Geon) is a control freak whom hires Ha Won after witnessing her no-nonsense attitude towards Hyun Min when he brought her to the wedding. So he decided to hire her as a live-in butler at Sky House with the hopes that she is able bring all his grandsons together as a family. And to change their way of living for the better.

Rounding out the ‘chaebol’ lifestyle of Sky House, Lee Yoon Sung (starring Choi Min Sung) is the boys handsome bodyguard and butler. He took great care of Ha Won when she moved into the mansion. He knew about her family issues and protected her from her ‘blood-sucking’ and irritating step-mother and step-sister.

What I like and enjoyed while watching Cinderella and Four Knights (신데렐라와 네 명의 기사) is how light and fun it was. Entertaining with many funny moments although can’t deny that there were also frustrating and sad moments. Especially the part where Ji Hoon let Ha Won go in episode 16 when he woke up from his coma. His heart broke when he had to do it, but he wants her happiness more than anything else. Am so glad that Grandfather Kang eventually realized that it is not the best choice to force them apart, hence agreed to let them get back together.

My favorite Knights among the four of them…. Definitely the cool, charming, caring and sweet Lee Yoon Sung (Choi Min Sung).

lee-yoon-sung

Oh… Did I mention about the beautiful OST from Cinderella and Four Knights (신데렐라와 네 명의 기사)? My top 3 selection of the OST from this drama would be as below:

  1. BTOB – For You
  2. Younha – I Believe
  3. ZIA – Only One (中韓字幕)

More songs can be found through this channel / link : 灰姑娘與四騎士 OST

So, if you need a break and looking for something light and entertaining, Cinderella and Four Knights (신데렐라와 네 명의 기사) is indeed the drama to watch. After all, what could go wrong when it is director Kwon Hyuk Chan, the genius whose always-expanding list of blockbusters includes A Gentleman’s Dignity, Lie to Me, and Secret Garden whom directed this drama.

cinderella1

Author:

I love travelling and exploring the world, see things from the lense of my camera.... this is my space in sharing the many exciting places that I have visited as well as some of the wonderful gastronomy experience. I also loved baking while exploring new recipes. From time to time, I will also be sharing unique dishes that I cook for my family as well as sharing some of my baking experience / recipes.

11 thoughts on “K-Drama Review: Cinderella and Four Knights (신데렐라와 네 명의 기사)

  1. my opinion, this drama super chessy, but i can’t stop watching it. hehehe, the ending a think a little bit clise and seems like they forcing it to ended. my fav characters are the third and the fourth knights

    Liked by 1 person

      1. the third is kang seo woo and the fourth is our lee yoon sung ajusshi, very suitable for the knight role, always helping without any subtle romance feeling

        Liked by 1 person

      2. don’t tell me you’re into mature man, well i can understand though, given your age. you wrote that you already working, you must be in mid 20’s (forgive me if i’am wrong) you must prefer someone more mature. me too, i like good looking boys but i’m not into the flower boys type. i can’t stand the boy who are prettier than women. so my fav is kang seo woo

        Liked by 1 person

      3. 😱 I wished I am that young my dear. I am way above that. I have been working for more than 17 years (😉 add the maths and you can get my age). So yes my preference has always been older men and given my age, Lee Yoon Sung is considered younger man to me 😉 I am actually from Won Bin era 😉

        Like

      4. woaw? but your taste about dramas and novels sure makes your in the mid 20’s age line. stay young through the years, i remember watching “autumn in my heart” when i was in primary school. hehehe

        Liked by 1 person

      5. i’m still watching “shopping king louie”, there are many comedy in the story, seeing how naive the male lead and female lead in their own way. i prefer that kind of story than the moon lovers or moonlight drawn by the clouds (i hate the tragedy genre drama). i also watch jealousy incarnate, i’m still considering whether to watch “K2” or not since it’s thriller genre, which is really not my fav but i still watch if the story is interesting

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Sound great. Thanks. I am waiting for On the way to the Airport … Lee Sang Yoon 😍😍😍 and I have yet started Doctors of which my Korean Gfriend say a must watch

        Like

      7. yes, you must watch it, i love how they wrote the female lead, she’s realistic like ordinary human, not like the typically female lead they wrote with virtue and angelic demeanor with no flaw . she’s like any other human, imperfect because no body’s perfect. and how they wrote other characters. i can’t gave you much explanation because of my limited vocabularies. but this drama is worth to watch

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment