Posted in Drama Review / Recaps

HK-Drama Review: A Fist Within Four Walls (城寨英雄)

Been a while since I last watched any Hong Kong TVBI Drama. Recently, as I return home from work late in the evening, I was attracted to the drama that my husband is currently watching, A Fist Within Four Walls (城寨英雄).

Finally the weekend is here and finally a little more relax from work (finally submitted the budget, just waiting for the presentation day which is scheduled for this coming Thursday), I took some time to watch the drama. No wonder it is said to the the second highest rated drama of 2016. After all, for a non-lover of martial art drama, I am hocked. 

A Fist Within Four Walls (城寨英雄) is a 2016 Hong Kong martial arts action drama produced by Jazz Boon and TVBI. A total of 28 episodes, this multi award winning drama of 2016, A Fist Within Four Walls (城寨英雄) is the story Chor Au Kuen (starring Ruco Chan), Tiu Lan (starring Nancy Wu), Duen Ying Fung (starring Benjamin Yuen), Fa Man (starring Grace Wong), Lung Shing Fu (starring Philip Ng), Or Tak Li (starring Moon Lau) and Yuk Bo Fung (starring Yuen Qiu) and their life within the triad-ridden Kowloon Walled City back in the early 1960s.

Each of them are gifted in martial art (although some hiding their skills for various reason), Kuen (also known as Kuen Lo 拳佬; “Fist Guy”) and Fung (also known as Ngah Lo 牙佬; “Tooth Guy”) form the Kowloon Walled City Welfare Association to protect the people against The Fellow Association (the antagonists association).

four-heros

A Fist Within Four Walls (城寨英雄) is a story of revenge and finding out the real truth of incidents that happen 15 years ago filled with lots of exciting martial arts actions (mind you, I am never a fan of martial art). It is also about friendship and protecting our love ones.

nancy-wu

What I did not like about A Fist Within Four Walls (城寨英雄) is how they killed many of the ‘heroes’ as the mysteries behind the death of Chiu (Kuen’s father) and Duen (Fung’s father) begin to unravel. It is pretty sad to see how Fung lost his love, Fa Man whom is also the sister of Kuen. And how Shing Fu had to die while protecting Tak Li just on the same day he profess his love and ask her to marry him, although as cute as he can get, he was saying it all in Thai causing the poor girl confusion.

1444659812869sf_90715d9e5902d0fb56845ab835dc29b7

The most touching moments that I had enjoyed…. is where Fung apologies to Kuen for all the bad that he had done when he was influenced by Yeung Chuk Luen (starring Jimmy Au), the owner of ‘put chai ko’ factory whom is the head of an assassination society. Kuen whom was still blind then, told him that is enough as it is all in the past. The brotherhood between them is indeed touching.

kkgo70jl

The main OTP of A Fist Within Four Walls (城寨英雄) is Tiu Lan and Chor Au Kuen. It is very touching how Kuen forgive Tiu Lan when he found out that she was also involve in the death of his father 15 years ago although initially he took it really hard. When Au Kuen became blind, Tiu Lan stood by his side as much as she could even supporting him from afar. She is very firm of her feelings for Au Kuen and refuse to let go despite all obstacles that comes their way.

A good ending (despite so many lost of life along the way) in A Fist Within Four Walls (城寨英雄) where Yeung Chuk Luen was killed and everyone move on with their life within the Walled Wall of Kowloon.

And for me as usual, the best part is always the OST. In A Fist Within Four Walls (城寨英雄), the main OST is sang by Nancy Wu and Ruco Chan. The OST is available via : Never Know You Are the Best (從未知道你最好)

So if you have not watched A Fist Within Four Walls (城寨英雄), this is indeed a highly recommended TVBI drama.

 

 

Author:

I love travelling and exploring the world, see things from the lense of my camera.... this is my space in sharing the many exciting places that I have visited as well as some of the wonderful gastronomy experience. I also loved baking while exploring new recipes. From time to time, I will also be sharing unique dishes that I cook for my family as well as sharing some of my baking experience / recipes.

10 thoughts on “HK-Drama Review: A Fist Within Four Walls (城寨英雄)

  1. Hope you’re enjoying your down time. I loved Four Walls! Hapi Mari manga is excellent, but the series was lacking by miles in my opinion. Even the pretty man couldn’t make up for the missing bits of the back story. Check out the manga because I know that you have hours of free time!~~ Are you watching the J-drama ‘We Married as a Job/Nigeru wa Haji da ga Yaku ni Tatsu’? It”s the first J-drama I’ve been excited about since Sukinahito ga Iru Koto. Enjoy the holidays!^^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hei Jocelyn, yes it is relaxing. Had not had a relaxing weekend for a long time. Finally a weekend where I did not have any migraine attack and could finally have a fantastic weekend (pain free as well).
      I will check out the J-Drama, ‘We Married as a Job/Nigeru wa Haji da ga Yaku ni Tatsu’? as recommended. I am now watching Hippocrates no Chikai since I have also recently return to the world of J-Drama.
      Have a blessed week ahead my dear.

      Like

    1. Hi sutekii. I am never a fan of TVB dramas for several years now. I always felt that the current ones are not as good as those from Bobby Au Yong and gang time. Will check out your recommendation

      Like

Leave a Reply

