Posted in Drama Review / Recaps

C-Drama Review : Remembering Li Chuan (遇见王沥川)

After years of anticipation, Remembering Li Chuan (遇见王沥川) is finally aired…. I was introduced to the translated novel version of this story, known as Li Chuan’s Past (沥川往事) by tinkerbellsan. And I got really hooked to the novel. Despite that it is pretty sad story with a good ending, I actually re-read the novel over 10 times from Li Chuan’s Past (沥川往事)

Thanks to Remembering Li Chuan Feature (Trailer and Book) posted by tranzgeek, I waited for days anticipating for the release of the drama. Several days after the post by tranzgeek sharing the airing date, imagine my happiness when Godfrey Gao also make the announcement on his Instagram.

Remembering Li Chuan 2

The wait is finally over. I finally found the time to watch the drama and managed to complete 2 episodes today. So, I decided my share my thoughts on the drama since I know some of the people I personally know is waiting for my feedback on the drama before they decide if they would be watching this drama.

The drama started almost similar as how the story started. How Li Chuan and Xie Xiao Qiu met are different as the novel where both of them met outside a cafe where Xiao Qiu were working. And it is not the cafe that they met in the novel where Xiao Qiu was a waitress. In the drama, Li Chuan was with his brother, Ji Chuan whom had just arrived into Shanghai with the task given by their grandfather to takeover Li Chuan’s job in Shanghai and get him to return to Zurich.

Some misunderstanding resulted in Xiao Qiu being fired and that caused some disagreement between Xiao Qiu and Ji Chuan. What a wrong start to their acquaintance. Now I wonder how they are going to mend that when Li Chuan and Xiao Qiu got together?

Although there were some similarity in the drama against the novel in Episode 1 and Episode 2 of the drama, most of the story line were changed.

What I like about this drama and I certainly am going to watch this drama till the end is purely because of Godfrey Gao. His acting skills are indeed highly commendable.  Not to mentioned that, unlike most mainland C-Drama where the voices are dubbed, in Remembering Li Chuan (遇见王沥川), Godfrey Gao character were not dubbed. I am not sure about the other characters in the drama as most of them are unknown artistes to me though.

I would not be writing about recap about the drama as writing recap is really not my forte. I would rather continue with translation of the novels that I am currently working on with the time I have instead. So, if you want to know more about the drama and how it ended, I would definitely recommend to watch the drama. I might (depending on the ending and mood), do the ending opinion sharing once I am done with the drama. That is to be decided at a later stage.

The episodes are available from youtube – Remembering Li Chuan (遇见王沥川).

I am so in love with the OST of this drama (even before I started watching the drama, I had already been listening to the OST). For those who had known me personally would know how much I love music. My favourite Remembering Li Chuan OST can be found here: Start Over || Remembering Lichuan – 遇见王沥川

For those who are interested in reading the novel, the RAW are available at Li Chuan’s Past (沥川往事) – Xuan Yin (玄隐)

Author:

I love travelling and exploring the world, see things from the lense of my camera.... this is my space in sharing the many exciting places that I have visited as well as some of the wonderful gastronomy experience. I also loved baking while exploring new recipes. From time to time, I will also be sharing unique dishes that I cook for my family as well as sharing some of my baking experience / recipes.

24 thoughts on “C-Drama Review : Remembering Li Chuan (遇见王沥川)

    1. sutekii, been a while. Hope all well with you. Yes, he is awesome. I loved his character in this drama. He did it soooo well. Full of emotions. I loved the OST as well. Great music. Enjoy the drama

      Like

    1. Yes Godfrey is a good enough reason to watch the drama 😊 my heart broke when he was sooooo sick… yes I did sneak previews here and there. Hehe…. looking forward to the other adaption drama…. Those are listed on your site already. Can’t wait to watch them. Now re-reading Xiao Nai and Wei Wei while waiting for the drama to be aired 😊 have a great weekend

      Like

  1. Yes, I watched it too even though I don’t understand Chinese but I still watch it….hahahaha….
    I like the novel and so far I really enjoy the drama. Hopely someone can translate it in English, cross my fingers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahahaha….. After waiting for so many years…. With or without sub, I am watching it first. Luckily the mandarin is not too deep and I could understand them 😍 Godfrey is just soooooo coolllllll! Can anyone be any better looking as him? He is just perfect as Li Chuan 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m watching the long trailer of it and feel excited and anticipated for the airing, but I can’t finished the first episode, I’m so dozed T.T …. but Godfrey so handsome and cool, well maybe I’ll start watching it again after there’s eng sub available out there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Brenda, glad that you are enjoying the drama. I do not have the episode that you have requested. I only follow whatever been uploaded on Youtube.com. At the moment, I have only completed episode 8.

      Like

  3. I read the novel translated by Lil’ Bliss, one of the first cnovels I read translated in English. It’s a beautiful translation. I am waiting for Viki to get the licence…those who are interested please sign the form for request, more request more chances to get licence and get subbed.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Why can’t they produced it according to the novel and have a happy ending for the couple! OMG! I’ve had shed so much tears that you would not have believe it. Please make sure they English sub it this time. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

